Trustees & kaumātua


Trustees and kaumātua

Board of Trustees

The governing body for Otamatea Marae and Kakaraea are the 16 Trustees of the Otamatea Marae Board of Trustees who represent each of the families of Otamatea Marae. Trustees are chosen by their own whānau.

Trustees are expected to attend all trustee hui and are responsible for keeping their whānau informed on Marae matters.

Current Trustees are:

  • Hazel Te Poi Kaio
  • Paki Kena
  • William Louis Lewis
  • Robyn Patricia Manukau
  • Waimarie (Marie) Morgan (Paikea)
  • Veronica Materoa Nathan
  • Bill Poihi Paikea (Chair)
  • Joe Paikea
  • Lloyd Robert Paikea
  • Kim Phillips (Treasurer)
  • Zane Te Kawau Phillips
  • Pairama Hakiputatomuri Toka
  • Hazel Walker
  • Eddie Watts

The Board of Trustees has three elected officers who chair meetings and manage internal and external relationships, keep financial records and prepare books for audit, send pānui, record trustee decisions and attend to correspondence.

Current officers for the Otamatea Marae Board of Trustees are:

  • Chair – Bill Paikea
  • Kim Phillips – Treasurer
  • Victoria Kurupo– Secretary

Elections of officers takes place every three years.

Financial accounts are audited each year. The Board of Trustees hold an annual general meeting (AGM) which takes place around October/November each year. The audited financial accounts are tabled at the AGM. Whānau are welcome to attend Trustee meetings and the AGM.

Taumata kaunihera

Our kaumātua sit on the Taumata. The Taumata discuss and decide matters relating to tikanga and kawa for Otamatea Marae and other matters of cultural significance across the wider hapū and iwi.

The Taumata also has responsibility for Kakaraea church and the urupā. Marae portfolios provide support as required such as tidying the urupā and funding.

Matua John Marsden chairs the Taumata.